Green light for construction of thousands of new starter homes

Industry News,New Homes

Green light for construction of thousands of new starter homes

by on Tuesday 3 January, 2017 in Industry News,New Homes

The Government has confirmed that 2017 will see the first wave of local authority partnerships to build starter homes on brownfield sites across the country backed by the £1.2 billion Starter Homes Land Fund.

Speaking today (3 January 2017), Housing Minister Gavin Barwell confirmed the details of the first 30 local authority partnerships to build new homes exclusively for first-time buyers aged between 23 and 40 years old. The starter homes will be available at a discount of at least 20% below market value.

The first wave of 30 local authority partnerships were selected on the basis of their potential to deliver the schemes early and to support the wider growth and regeneration of local areas, including some town centre sites.

The first places will begin construction later this year along with sites supported by the Homes and Communities Agency.

Housing Minister Gavin Barwell said:

“This government is committed to building Starter Homes to help young first time buyers get on the housing ladder.

“This first wave of partnerships shows the strong local interest to build thousands of Starter Homes on hundreds of brownfield sites in the coming years. One in three councils has expressed an interest to work with us so far.”

The Starter Homes Land Fund was set up in April 2016 to prepare suitable land for quality starter home developments which can be built on by developers or through accelerated construction by 2020.

Each local authority partnership will work closely with the Homes and Communities Agency to identify and take forward further land opportunities for the fund.


The 30 Starter Home Land Fund partnerships are:

•Blackburn with Darwen Council

•Blackpool Council

•Bristol City Council

•Central Bedfordshire Council

•Cheshire West and Chester Council

•Chesterfield Borough Council

•Chichester District Council

•City of Lincoln

•Ebbsfleet Development Corporation

•Fareham Borough Council

•Gloucester City Council

•Greater Manchester Combined Authority (Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan)

•Lincolnshire County Council

•Liverpool City Council (in association with Sefton, Knowsley, Halton, Wirral, St Helens)

•Luton Borough Council

•Mid Sussex District Council

•Middlesbrough Council

•North Somerset Council

•Northumberland County Council

•Pendle Borough Council

•Plymouth City Council

•Rotherham Metropolitan Council

•Rushmoor Borough Council

•Sheffield City Council

•South Kestevan District Council

•South Ribble Borough Council (in association with Preston City Council and Lancashire County Council)

•South Somerset District Council

•Stoke-on-Trent City Council

•West Somerset Council (in association with Taunton Deane Borough Council, Sedgemoor District Council)

•Worthing Council



Share this article:

Send us a comment